Overview: Maine has expanded its mini-WARN notice requirements from 60 days to 90 days.
Effective Date: September 18, 2019
Details: Maine amended its mini-WARN statute. The statute requires covered establishments to provide the Maine Director of the Bureau of Labor Standards, the establishment’s employees, and the applicable municipal officers 60 days’ written notice prior to closing or relocating a worksite. This amendment lengthens the notice period from 60 days to 90 days. The amendment also clarifies that the existing penalty of $500 per day applies to violations of the notice requirement to the Director as well as violations of the notice requirement to employees and municipal officers.
The amendments are codified at title 26, section 625-B of the Maine Revised Statutes.
Action Required: Impacted employers should train individuals responsible for complying with WARN separation notice requirements on the amendments. If contemplating a business closing or mass layoff, consult with knowledgeable counsel to ensure all applicable requirements are adequately and timely met.
Please contact your dedicated service professional with any questions.
Produced in Partnership with Littler Mendelson, PC.
This content provides practical information concerning the subject matter covered and is provided with the understanding that ADP is not rendering legal advice.