January 2022

State Updates

 

Delaware repeals youth and training minimum wages

11/04/21

Author: ADP Admin/Wednesday, November 3, 2021/Categories: Compliance Corner , State Compliance Update, Delaware

Delaware has enacted legislation (House Bill 88) that will repeal a provision that allows employers to pay less than the minimum wage to youth workers and new employees. House Bill 88 takes effect December 29, 2021.

Background:

In 2018, Delaware enacted legislation that permitted employers to pay adults 50 cents less than the state’s minimum wage during their first 90 calendar days on the job. The law also allowed employers to pay 50 cents less than the state’s minimum wage to employees under the age of 18. These are known as the training and youth minimum wages, respectively.

House Bill 88:

Effective December 29, 2021, Delaware employers will no longer be able to pay training and youth minimum wages. As a result, all non-exempt, non-tipped employees must receive at least the full state minimum wage, which is currently $9.25 per hour but will increase to $10.50 per hour on January 1, 2022.

Compliance Recommendations:

Employers should ensure they meet all of their minimum wage obligations and display an updated labor law poster. Please contact your dedicated service professional with any questions. 

Number of views (560)/Comments (0)

Tags: 11/04/21

Recent State Updates

 

© Copyright 2016 ADP LLC. 10200 Sunset Drive | Miami, FL 33173

You are receiving this email because you are a client of ADP TotalSource. The ADP logo, ADP, and ADP TotalSource® are registered trademarks of ADP, LLC. ADP - A more human resource. is a service mark of ADP, LLC.