New Jersey has enacted legislation (Assembly Bill 3950), which requires an employer to notify its employees before using a vehicle tracking device. Assembly Bill 3950 takes effect on April 19, 2022.
New Jersey employers must provide written notice to employees before knowingly using a device that is solely designed or intended to track a vehicle, person, or device.
Note: This does not include expense reimbursement documentation devices.
Employers that are found to have violated the law may face a penalty of up to $1,000 for the first violation and up to $2,500 for subsequent violations.
New Jersey employers should review their policies and procedures to ensure compliance with Assembly Bill 3950.